A load of balls

I was watching “A Question of Sport” the other day, and when they started playing a particular game, I found myself lapsing into what for many teachers will be the familiar semi-conscious “how could I use this thing in the classroom” reverie… It often seems to hit when we are watching TV gameshows – I wonder if Richard Osman and co. know quite how useful our re-imaginings of their formats are… 😉

The game involved a series of multiple-choice questions, with the three options all being fairly feasible answers… but only one actually correct.

In front of first Daws and then Tuffers were three baskets marked A, B and C. The player started off with a number of tennis balls (20, I think, but that’s not very important), and against the clock, and with the help of his teammates, decided how many balls to “bet” on each of the three options, depending on how confident they were about their choice.

The first questions were fairly easy, but they got swiftly trickier. If the balls were in the right basket after the 10 seconds (I think), the player kept them for the next round. If they were in the wrong baskets, they lost them.

In this way, the player’s supply of balls gradually dwindled, but he and his team had to ensure that they had at least some left by the end of the final question.

I think it would be easy enough to tweak this concept for an MFL classroom*, and have started to compile a few sets of multiple-choice questions and answers. I see it being a good way to focus on tricky grammar points, or revise funky vocab, but it could be a really adaptable format, I reckon. I will let you know how it goes… or if you get there first, please tell me! [I am @bellaale on Twitter, if that’s easier than commenting here…]

* other curriculum areas are available… 😉

Leave a Reply

