What I Learned About Teaching at the Wellington Education Festival

Nail. Head. Hit.

Laura McInerney

Last weekend I attended the Sunday Times Education Festival at Wellington. It was brilliant. Sunshine, nice grounds, hundreds of people chatting about edu-nerdy things. It’s basically my nirvana.

Busy enjoying myself I didn’t take many notes or feel particularly moved to write a blog about it all. HOWEVER, one event stayed with me all week for what it encapsulated about the true spirit of teaching. So I thought I’d share that part.

*

At lunch-time on Saturday I was lucky enough to be in the ‘street’ – a part of the festival including street-y food vendors and a soundstage. In total, about twenty people were milling around, with the majority of attendees still tucked away watching talks.

Out of apparently nowhere I hear two booming voices: “HELLO!”

It was two men stood on the stage. They were in England shirts. The night before, England had crashed out of the cup.

View original post 407 more words

Leave a Reply

