Express yourself!

As I start focusing on the impending academic year, one area that I know I want to improve, in terms of what goes on in my classroom, is the use of the target language. Whilst I am not one of those people who believes that it has to be 100% TL, all the time, I would like to get my pupils using authentic French and German more frequently…

When I saw a wonderful Spanish wall display posted via the wonderful @alenord on Twitter, my eyes lit up and I decided to do the same for my two languages. It took a while to translate everything from Spanish – although I was intrigued, but not altogether surprised, by how many fairly straightforward cognates there were…

And so here is a link to a Google Doc with 4 lists (Spanish, French, German and English), each further subdivided into the following 5 sections:

  • Agreement
  • Praise
  • Joking around
  • Surprise/shock
  • Disagreement
  • Disbelief

These lists could easily be transferred onto posters for wall display, or onto learning mats for individual pupils, which is what I am going to do… I think I am going to tie it in with Class Dojo, and reward pupils who use any of the expressions (appropriately!) in class!

Please edit them if you think of anything better than my ideas – and perhaps any further sections we could add?

 

3 responses to “Express yourself!

Leave a Reply

